God’s Plan

I couldn’t wait to walk across that stage and finally been done with high school.  Now, I would do anything to go back and treasure every second.  High school brought me some of my favorite memories, with my best friends.  While I loved the time I spent there I was ready to venture into the world outside of my hometown.

After graduation, its tradition that all the graduated seniors go to myrtle beach for “beachweek.”  Beachweek, UVA orientation, a summer job, family vacations, and spending every second with friends made the summer fly by.

Saying goodbye was hard but I was so excited I could barely process the change.  A couple weeks in I began to struggle and feel out of place.  I missed my boyfriend, family, and friends.  Going home became a weekend occurrence.  I began to hate being here.  Talk of transferring and filling out applications flooded my mind constantly.  Negativity and hatred flooded my body.  I made spreadsheets, lists, and compiled all the reasons for my antagonistic view on my school.  I lost my faith in God.

The truth is that God put me here for a reason.  I was waitlisted at all of my other options making UVA the clear choice for me.  While I was doubtful my dad reassured me by saying “Brooke I don’t know what He is planning, but there is something great in store for you at UVA.”  So I listened.

I started my second semester as a fresh start.  Trying to remain hopeful in God’s plan.  While it may be that God is planning for me to transfer, I can’t help but feel that there is something special in store for me here.  So for now I live every day in firm belief that I am living in God’s plan.

Leave a comment